Or, rather, don't. My phone has been acting strange for awhile now. I probably should have thought ahead. It started innocently enough. Turning itself off. At first only occasionally. Then 10 times a day. But then it would stop for 3 weeks and function just fine. Next comes the battery bar. The battery appeared to be draining ridiculously fast. Write one text message and you go from full battery down to half. Sounds like trouble. Except that the battery bar would be totally empty and the phone would still function. I could write 15 texts on zero battery. Talk to the parents for an hour on zero battery. I started to ignore the lack of battery bars. I got complacent. You'd think I would have learned with the Sebring and its idiot lights. No oil, overheated engine. Take it in, my oil and coolant levels are just fine. A week later, the same thing. Take it in again, levels are still a-ok. A week later, same thing. Take it in again, no worries here. The car that cried wolf... of course, until I was headed to Indianapolis on a Friday evening for a weekend wedding, then KAPOW! Time to buy a new car, cupcake -- your engine overheated and all your oil burned out. But who can blame me after I got the car checked 15 times for the same problem (at different places, mind you), and nothing was ever wrong with it?? Anyway, back to the phone (I'm not bitter about it. Ha!). So after all that trouble, I start to ignore the idiot lights. Now tonight, all of a sudden, my phone starts blinking no battery power and shuts off. And every time I turn it back on, it shuts off again. Plug it into the wall, turn it on, sorry no battery. Goodnight, moon. I don't know if it's the phone itself or the charger. My contract with AT&T isn't up for renewal (read as: new phone eligibility) until August, and I'll theoretically be leaving about then anyway. This is my 2nd phone in 2 years... they just don't make them like they used to. I early college Sony Ericsson was a beast, but, damnit, it lasted me for 3 years, and my mom is STILL using it. So tomorrow I'm heading out to see if I can find a new charger for it. Hopefully that will solve the problem, and it's not actually that the battery won't hold a charge. If that doesn't work, it looks like I'll be in the market for a new/used phone. Hopefully someone takes pity on me and just gives me one for free. Ha! But regardless, until that happens, I am incommunicado via phone. Yippee.
Edit: I'm an idiot. Next time I should probably check to see if we knocked the charger out of the wall while we were having sex. My bad.

No comments:
Post a Comment